top of page

Golden Trowel Award

About the Golden Trowel Award 


Since its inception the Golden Trowel Award continues to be an exciting means for Lodges to recognize and honor distinguished members with an official award from the Grand Lodge of Texas. It is for use by all Texas Lodges.

The Golden Trowel is the Lodge's formal recognition of a Brother for his devoted service to Masonic principles in general or to his Lodge. It is intended for the Brother who, year after year, quietly, but actively demonstrates his devotion to the teachings of Masonry without thought of recognition or special honors.

Every Lodge has such members. They spread the living cement that builds our Fraternity into a true Brotherhood.

You will find them at labor in the kitchens, on the work committees, in public office, on community projects, in service clubs, heavily involved in their church activities and in schools - anywhere that a true and steady hand of assistance is needed.

It is to those Master Craftsmen that the Golden Trowel Award is designated as the highest award a Lodge can bestow upon an individual member.

This award is not intended to replace or supersede any individual recognition award already established by a Lodge. It provides the advantages of a single, official award which is recognized state wide.



How it Began


Our Golden Trowel Award originated at a place called "Armadillo Acres" - the get-away home, or country retreat of Past Grand Master Leonard P. Harvey. In the Fall of 1989 while at "Armadillo Acres" for a bit of a breather prior to the upcoming Grand Lodge session, Grand Master Harvey, Deputy Grand Master A.D. Hanna and Grand Senior Warden Fred E. Allen were discussing possible recipients of the prestigious Sam Houston Medal given annually to outstanding Masons. During those discussions, Deputy Grand Master Hanna opined:


"We are always giving special recognition to brethren on a Grand Lodge level, and I don't understand why we can't recognize deserving guys at the lodge level." He mentioned that in nearly every lodge there are the rather obscure brothers who day in and day out do the "little things" for Masonry and for his lodge, and he does those things without expectation of reward or recognition. He went on to say those are the brethren who work in the kitchen, sweep the floors, do plumbing and carpentry work, mow the yard, plant and maintain flowers --- and, yes - they are those who pick up the disabled and bring them to lodge meetings, see to the transportation and other needs of the widows and others who are less fortunate for one reason or another. While talking about his idea, Brother Hanna was sitting in "the red chair" twiddling between his fingers a small golden trowel that was given to Brother Harvey's father-in-law several years ago when he purchased lots at a Dallas cemetery. The proverbial "light came on" and Brother Hanna said: "We can call it the "Golden Trowel Award." That is the way it happened, and it has been carried forward ever since.



Golden Trowel Recipients

2017 - Keith Hammons

2013 - Charles Allard

2012 - Leslie Tew

2011 - Norman J. Quaas

2009 - Dwayne Praytor

2008 - Mike Dodgen

2007 - Ben Brown

2004 - E.W. Winters

2003 - Bill Pierce

2002 - Leslie Griffin

2001 - Gene Wilson



2000 - Mitch Praytor

1999 - Lloyd Land

1999 - Jim Withrow

1998 - Clyde Kelley

1995 - Keith Kingston

1994 - Henry Whatley

1993 - Jack Mattews

1992 - R.T. Hutchins

1991 - David Allard

1990 - Hulan Kimberley


bottom of page